mobile btn
Friday, May 7th, 2021

Air Force announces 2016 Nuclear Deterrence Operations, Nuclear and Missile Operations awards winners

Officials with the U.S. Air Force (USAF) recently named the 2016 winners of the Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award and the Nuclear and Missile Operations Award.

The Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award is given to those who accomplish outstanding achievements in nuclear deterrence operations, while the Nuclear and Missile Operations Award recognizes those who make significant contributions to the nuclear and missile operations career field.

Each awardee was selected from a diverse personnel group within USAF’s major commands, unified combatant commands and associated agencies including the Air Force Reserve and the Air National Guard.

Winners of the Nuclear Deterrence Operations Award include Airman of the Year Staff Sgt. Stephen T. Biggs, Officer of the Year Tech. Sgt. Andrew W, Weissbach, Company Grade Officer of the Year Capt. Charles J. Howell, Field Grade Officer of the Year Maj. Patrick A. Yanez, Category I Civilian of the Year Mykenzie Hamblin, Category II Citizen of the Year Michael J. Schmidt, and Category II Civilian of the Year Richard C. Cross, among other recipients.

Winners of the Nuclear and Missile Operations Award include Operator 1st Lt. Cole J. Evans, CGO 1st Lt. Jeffrey S. Dobrow, and FGO, Maj. Joseph Shannon III.

“We have Airmen doing a phenomenal job each and every day delivering our nation a robust, reliable, flexible and survivable nuclear deterrent,” said Lt. Gen. Jack Weinstein, deputy chief of staff of Strategic Deterrence and Nuclear Integration at Air Force’s headquarters. “Our winners are distinguished even among that group. Their outstanding performance strengthened the nation’s nuclear deterrent and exemplify the professionalism we value in our Airmen.”